Wheel Of the Year

I like to call this the Celebration Calendar. With-in the cycle of a year, we hit eight major markers of the earths cycle of life. These mark the old ways and the seasonal changes within the natural world around us. Although it is debatable when the year “starts” for argument sake, Yule is most commonly found at the top of the wheel so we will start from there.

Yule- Celebrating the beginning of Winter, Winter Solstice. Dec 21.

Imbolc-Celebrating the half way point between winter and spring, Feb 2.

Ostara- Celebrating the beginning of Spring, Spring Equinox, Mar 21.

Beltane-Celebrating the half way point between Spring and Summer, May 1.

Lithia- Celebrating the beginning of Summer, Summer Solstice. June 21

Lammas-Celebrating the half way point between Summer and Fall, First Harvest, Aug 1.

Mabon-Celebrating the beginning of Fall, Fall Equinox.Sept 21

Samhain-Celebrating the half way point between Fall and Winter, Oct 31

As we move past Samhain and back into Yule, it closes the circle and creates an never ending cycle of the year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: